SOESD / School Improvement Services / School-Wide Improvement / Attendance Initiative / Attendance Initiative - Laws
Attendance Initiative - Laws
Below is a brief overview of Oregon State Laws regarding school attendance:
ORS 339.020 - Duty to send children to school: Every person having control of any child between the ages of 7 and 18 years who has not completed the 12th grade is required to send such child to and maintain such child in regular attendance at a public full-time school during the entire school term.
ORS 339.010 - School Attendance Required: Age Limits. All children between the ages of 7 and 18 years who have not completed the 12th grade are required to attend regularly a public full-time school of the school district in which the child resides. CLASS C VIOLATION= $180 per full day of school missed.
ORS 166.577 (Subsection C) - Failing to supervise a child: Fails to attend school as required under ORS 339.010 CLASS A VIOLATION= $720.
The following links provide an in-depth look at the attendance laws that are provided in the Oregon Revised Statutes:
Education Laws: http://www.ode.state.or.us/search/results/?id=48
The 2007 Edition of the “Chapter 339- School Attendance, Admission, Discipline, Safety” Laws: http://landru.leg.state.or.us/ors/339.html