SOESD
  Southern Oregon Subscribe!
Be notified of news
& updates by email
EDUCATION SERVICE DISTRICT   signup | manage settings
STUDENTS EDUCATORS PARENTS SOESD STAFF
SOESD
SOESD
SOESD / School Improvement Services / Child Care Resource Network / About Child Care Licensing & Regulations

About Child Care Licensing & Regulations

 

Types of Regulated Child Care in Oregon
Registered Family Child Care Homes   Certified Family Child Care Homes   Certified Child Care Centers
Characteristics   Characteristics   Characteristics
         
The child care business is in the provider's own home. Registration applies to only one provider at any address.   The child care business is in a single family home, usually the provider's home. Provider may hire assistant(s).   The child care business is in a facility that has met zoning, occupancy and building code requirements, usually a commercial building.
A maximum number of 10 children allowed in care at any one time. Of the 10, no more than 6 may be younger that 1st grade age, and no more than 2 of the 6 may be under the age of two. The provider's own children are counted in the number.   A maximum number of 16 children are allowed in care, as determined by CCD. Children may be of any age, as long as the appropriate staff/child ratio is met.   Maximum number of children depends on square footage of building, number of qualified staff and various other factors. Center's certification from CCD will reflect maximum number of childen allowed in facility.
A health and safety review is conducted by CCD prior to children being in care; and every 2 years at renewal of registration.   DHS and CCD must inspect and approve home prior to children being in care. Both reinspect annually.   Fire Department, DHS and CCD must inspect and approve facility prior to children being in care. All reinspect annually.
The provider, all residents, substitutes and frequent visitors over 18 years of age must be enrolled in CCD's Criminal History Registry.   The provider, all residents, substitutes and frequent visitors over 18 years of age must be enrolled in CCD's Criminal History Registry.   All staff over the age of 18 must be enrolled in CCD's Criminal History Registry.
More information about regulation of child care can be obtained form ORS657A.250 - 657A.460, or you may call the Child Care Division at 1-800-556-6616, or go online to the Employment Department website at: www.workinginoregon.org then look under child care.
                           
                        CCD 311 (9/05)
                           
                           



printer friendly version Printer friendly version

SOESD
Learning Matters
*
*
Translate
*
*
*
*
*
Search SOESD
*
*
site map   advanced search 
*
*
*
School Improvement Services - Child Care Resource Network - About Child Care Licensing & Regulations
*
*
*
Back to Child Care Resource Network
*
*
Provider Intake Form: Market your Child Care Business!
*
*
Child Care Subsidies
*
*
About Child Care Licensing & Regulations
*
*
Americans With Disabilities Act & Child Care
*
*
Exempt Providers
*
*
Health & Safety Checklist of Home for Registration
*
*
Matching Your Child to Type of Care
*
*
Child Care Quality, Health & Safety
*
*
Start & Operate a Home Child Care Program
*
*
Provider Resources & Career Information
*
*
Recognizing and Reporting Child Abuse & Neglect
*
*
Business Childcare Assistance
*
*
Child Care Training Calendar
*
*
CCRN Newsletter Archive
*
*
Flu Season
*
*
Frequently Asked Questions
*
*
Staff Directory
*
SOESD
SOESD
SOESD
35 S. Bartlett Street
Medford, OR 97501
Phone: (541) 842-2575
Contact: Child Care Resource Network
Email Us
Hours: Referral hours are 9am - 4:30 pm Monday through Friday.
SOESD
SOESD
*
SOESD
SOESD SOESD
HOME    |    STUDENTS    |    EDUCATORS    |    PARENTS    |    SOESD STAFF
SOESD
If you have questions regarding the site, please contact the webmaster.
Terms of Use | Built using Project A's Site-in-a-Box 2017