Home Schooling Services
Home School Office
Southern Oregon ESD
101 N. Grape St.
Medford, OR 97501
541-776-6764 | Toll Free:
Overview of Services
The Southern Oregon Education Service District Home School Office registers home schooled students who reside in Jackson, Josephine and Klamath counties. In order to comply with the compulsory school attendance law, the parent or guardian of a student between the ages of 6 and 18 must notify the Southern Oregon ESD within 10 days of withdrawing their child from public or private school.
DMV Statement of Enrollment
- The 2018-2019 Notification of Intent to Home School Form will be coming soon.
-Original form must be submitted to the ESD Home School Office
- Oregon Guidelines for Home Schooling - Frequently Asked Questions
- Home School Test Administrators List
The Department of Motor Vehicles requires a Statement of Enrollment for all home schooled students who are eligible to test for a driver's permit or license. Please call our office for more information.
Testing for home school students is administered by independent test examiners approved by the Oregon Department of Education. The Southern Oregon Education Service District does not administer tests for home school children. It is the responsibility of the parent/guardian to arrange and pay for testing. A list of qualified testers in Southern Oregon is available on our third link above
under "FORMS". A list of all testers currently registered by the Oregon Department of Education is available on the ODE website at http://www.ode.state.or.us/search/page/?id=2080
Testing is required for students at the end of grades 3, 5, 8 and 10. If the child never attended public or private school, the child must be tested before August 15 following the end of grade 3. If the child was withdrawn from public or private school, no testing is required for the first 18 months of home schooling, even if during that 18 month period the child is in grade 3, 5, 8, or 10.
High school students wanting to participate in sports or extra-curricular activities need to be tested on a yearly basis. Guidelines and rules can be found on the OSAA web site at: www.osaa.org
Southern Oregon ESD and local public schools are not required by law to provide educational materials and/or curriculum. Parents and guardians are responsible for the acquisition and cost of materials/curriculum. Grade Specific performance standards can be found on the Oregon Department of Education website at www.ode.state.or.us/teachlearn/
GED Option Program
Students under the age of 18 who are being home schooled and want to receive their GED must contact the Southern Oregon ESD to receive the proper paper work in order to take the GED tests. Home schooled students in Oregon are eligible to participate in the GED Option Program if:
- They are at least 16 years of age.
- They have an independent reading level (in English or Spanish) at the eighth grade level or above.
- It has been determined the GED option to be the most appropriate available at the time.
- Have completed the appropriate home school testing as stated in OAR 581-021-0026 (5), if applicable.
Oregon Department of Education Home School Information
Rogue Community College – General Educational Development (GED)
Klamath Learning Center -
Klamath Falls City School District (for 16 year olds or 5th year senior)
Falcon Heights Academy -
Klamath County School District (for 16 year olds or 5th year senior)
(541) 883-6699, ext 221
GED Online Practice Tests
It is recommended that you do your studying for the GED tests before you register to test. If you would like to study independently for the tests, there are GED study materials available in the library or for www.gedpractice.com
These resources are provided as reference information only.