Skip to main content

On behalf of the Oregon Department of Education, Southern Oregon Education Service District (SOESD) is proud to announce the selection of Lois MacMillan of Grants Pass High School, as a 2022 Oregon Regional Teacher of the Year.  MacMillan will be honored virtually in the coming month and will be awarded a check for $500.

SOESD convened a virtual Blue Ribbon Panel made up of diverse and unbiased panel members who represented the geographic region of Jackson, Josephine, and Klamath counties. The panel, who reviewed many applications from a larger set of nominations, found that Lois had the highest average rubric score of all candidates. The panelists made these observations during their deliberations:

  • I like the way Lois brought music into her curriculum
  • Lois understands differentiated instruction and works to ensure every student works with every other student throughout the year
  • Lois’s classroom is student-centered
  • There is a depth in Lois’s responses that correlates with her experience
  • Lois has been through the National Board Certification process and that shows in her reflective practice
  • There is a sense of humility in Lois’s responses
  • Lois has core values that she wishes to impart to her students and those core values will help her students become more resilient. This is something every teacher needs to know about and do.
  • Lois has a career with momentum and one gets a sense in reading her application that the best is yet to come.

The Oregon Teacher of the Year Program started in 1955, and is managed by the Oregon Department of Education.  Anyone can nominate a candidate for the recognition, but teachers may not nominate themselves.  Once selected, the Oregon Teacher of the Year is also a candidate to apply for the National Teacher of the Year recognition.  The selected teacher serves as the face and voice of exemplary educators across the state of Oregon, and engages and inspires other teachers and community leaders as a representative of the profession.

Oregon Department of Education chose in 2018-19 to expand the selection process for the nominees.  The goal of the expansion is to honor teachers in every region of the state.  Education Service Districts across Oregon reviewed applications submitted from their geographic region and facilitated a Blue Ribbon Panel and review process to identify winners in their regions.  Thirteen winners will go on to be considered for Oregon Teacher of the Year, which will be decided in September.

SOESD is proud of the amazing teachers in our three-county region, exemplified by MacMillan, who are focused on quality teaching, learning, and student achievement.

Close Menu